Documentation

Your guide to everything Workflow.

Sharing a workflow

There are a few ways you can share workflows with friends, other apps, and the world.

To share one of your workflows, tap a workflow from My Workflows to open it. Next, tap the share button, located in the upper left corner on iPhone or towards the upper center on iPad. The iOS share sheet will open where you can select an app to share with.

By default, sharing will create a private link so that the recipient can download a copy of your workflow. If a recipient has the Workflow app installed, tapping the generated link will open the app and show a preview of the workflow. Otherwise, the link will take them to a webpage where they can see a summary of the workflow.

Note

Sharing your workflow uploads it to a private space on our website. While workflows on our website are not indexed or searchable by the public, anyone with a link to your workflow can download and use it. Please see our privacy policy for more details. If you wish to share without uploading, see the section below on the “Share as File” option.

There are three additional built-in activities in the share sheet, including:

  • Copy Link
  • Add to Home Screen
  • Share as File

Tapping the Copy Link activity will generate a private link to your workflow and copy the URL to your clipboard. Paste anywhere to provide a link to download your workflow.

Add to Home Screen

If you want a quick way to run your workflows, adding them to your iPhone and iPad’s home screen is a great way to do it. With this feature, you can add an icon alongside your other apps, allowing you to trigger workflows without first opening the Workflow app.

Learn more in Adding a workflow to the Home Screen.

Share as File

With the Share as File activity, you can export your workflow as a .wflow file to another app.

This .wflow file contains all the information about your workflow, including its actions and their order, so it can be imported locally without an Internet connection. This can be useful for sharing via email, or for backing up a workflow externally in a third-party app.

Tap Share as File to generate a .wflow file. Next, a second share sheet will appear where you can choose where to save or send the file, such as to iCloud Drive or Dropbox.

Share as File does not upload a copy of your workflow to our website, and is recommended for sharing workflows that contain sensitive or personal information.

Duplicate a workflow

From the share sheet, there’s also an option to duplicate the current workflow. Tap “Duplicate Workflow” and you will be taken back to My Workflows, where a second version of the workflow will be created. (You can also duplicate workflows from the My Workflows directly – see how in Organizing your workflows.)

A note about Import Questions

If you’re sharing a workflow that uses personal or private data, you may want to consider duplicating it and changing some actions to use Import Questions. Import Questions, which are asked when a workflow is imported on a new device, allow others to customize your workflow to their needs. Answers to these questions will fill into actions in the workflow.

For example, the Home ETA workflow in the Gallery has an Import Question set up that asks, “What is your home address?” That way, when the user adds the workflow, they can easily enter their own address and the workflow will be ready to use right away.

Import Questions are helpful for removing personal information from workflows you share, such as addresses, contacts, passwords, or phone numbers, while enabling others to enter their own information as they import the workflow.

Setting up Import Questions

To add Import Questions, open a workflow and tap the settings button, then scroll to the bottom and tap “Import Questions”.

Tap “Add New Question” to create a new Import Question. You’ll be prompted to choose a parameter from one of the actions in your workflow. Then, you can enter the textual question to ask the user on import, as well as an optional default answer.

You can add as many Import Questions as needed, and each question will be asked in order when the workflow is downloaded.

Once you’ve added Import Questions, you can try them out for yourself. Go back to the workflow’s settings, then tap “Customize Workflow”. You can run through each import question, ensuring each makes sense and works as intended. Note that answers you provide here will overwrite what was previously configured in the workflow.


Now that you know how to create your own workflows and manage them, it’s time to move on to more advanced topics, starting with Using variables.