Documentation

Your guide to everything Workflow.

Creating a new workflow

To create a new workflow, tap the + button on the top right of My Workflows, or tap “Create Workflow” at the end of your list of workflows.

The newly-created workflow will be named Untitled Workflow and given the default magic wand icon.

Understanding the workflow composer

Workflow on the right, actions on the left

Inside the workflow composer, you’ll see two panes: your workflow (on the right), and the list of available actions (on the left).

On an iPhone, you’ll first see the workflow (indicated in the tab bar on the bottom). Swiping to the left or tapping on Actions in the tab bar will open the actions pane.

On an iPad (or a Plus-sized iPhone), both the actions pane and the workflow will display on the same screen.

To begin building your workflow, tap and hold on an action from the actions pane to grab it, then drag to the right and drop it into an empty space in the workflow. Learn more in Exploring the actions pane.

You can rearrange actions in a workflow by tapping and holding one, moving it up or down in the list of actions, and releasing it on an empty space.

Workflow controls

Along the top of the workflow composer, you’ll find a variety of options.

On the top right, there is an always-present “Done” button. Tap this when you’re finished editing to close the workflow.

On the right underneath “Done”, you’ll see a gear icon that takes you to the workflow’s settings, which includes options to change the title, icon, and color of the workflow.

Underneath the workflow’s title, you’ll see the “run” button that looks like a play sign – tap it to run the workflow. While a workflow is running, the play sign turns into a square to represent stop' – hit that and the workflow will halt immediately. Read more in How to run workflows.

On the top left, you’ll see a share icon. Tap that to reveal the standard iOS share sheet for app extensions and action extensions, so you can share a link to your workflow across other apps. See Sharing a workflow for more information.

Underneath the share icon, you’ll see buttons for “Undo” and “Redo”. These will allow you to undo and redo the changes that you make to your workflow.

Note

Undo and redo only work within one editing session – if you exit the workflow composer, you can no longer undo and redo changes. Additionally, undo and redo do not currently work for editing text within an action.

Starting with a blank workflow

By default, a new workflow will be empty and contain no actions, and you’ll have the option of selecting your desired workflow type. For more information on workflow types, see Using workflows from the Today Widget, Using workflows from the Action Extension, and Using workflows from Apple Watch.

In addition, you’ll see a button that you can tap to take a guided tour of how to build a workflow, and another to access help and support options.

It’s also possible to open Workflow to create a new workflow by using the URL scheme. From anywhere on iOS, open the link workflow://create-workflow and you’ll be taken to the workflow composer. Learn more in Using the Workflow URL scheme.


To start learning about actions to add to your new workflow, check out Exploring the actions pane. Or, jump right to Building out your workflow.